Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Young Brass Awards 2013

Youth Brass 2000, Thomas Fountain and Josiah Walters each play a 10 minute programme as they try to take the 2013 Overall Award. Presented by Frank Renton and Simone Rebello at The Royal Northern College of Music's Festival of Brass we hear the College's own Brass Band with conductor Russell Gray plus music from Exit Brass. All three have already received category Awards as either Youth Band of the Year or as player of the Year Under 18 or Under 21. The winner, announced by the adjudicators at the end of the event, will be offered a further broadcast as a featured artist on Radio 2. Making that decision are Ewan Easton, Principal Tuba of The Halle Orchestra, Richard Evans, one of the worlds most respected brass band conductors along with a composer who is creating creating new sounds for today's bands, Simon Dobson and Kenneth Crookston, current editor of British Bandsman, a magazine at the heart of the banding scene.

Release date:

30 minutes

Last on

Wed 13 Feb 2013 21:00

Young Brass Award 2016 - The Finalists

Young Brass Award 2016 Group Shot

Find out which four young musicians made it to this year's finals.