Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Stravinsky, Barber

Live from the Maida Vale Studios, London
Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The BBC Symphony Orchestra live from their home at the Maida Vale Studios in music by Stravinsky, Barber & Dvorak, conducted by Joshua Weilerstein

Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite
Barber: Cello Concerto

8.25 INTERVAL: Discovering Music - Dvorak's Symphony No 8 (see separate billing)

Dvorak: Symphony No 8

David Cohen (cello)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Joshua Weilerstein (conductor)

The BBC Symphony Orchestra are at home tonight at the Maida Vale Studios in London, joined by the young American conductor Joshua Weilerstein, one of the two Assistant Conductors at the New York Philharmonic. The suite from Stavinsky's ballet Pulcinella begins the concert. Composed at the request of Diaghilev and based on the music of the baroque Italian master Pergolesi, Pulcinella is often considered the first example of Stravinsky's neoclassical period. Then another young musician joins the fray with Belgian cellist David Cohen performing Samuel Barber's Cello Concerto. Completed in 1945, at a time when the American composer was incorporating modernism into his work, the use of syncopated rhythm here reflects some influence of Stravinsky. The BBC Symphony Orchestra's concert is rounded off with a performance of Dvorak's cheerful eighth symphony, which draws inspiration from Bohemian folk music.

55 minutes

Last on

Wed 6 Feb 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.