Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Jonathan Swain presents Elgar, Delius and Tippett from the First Night of the Proms 2012, with the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

12:31 AM
Elgar, Edward [1857-1934]
Cockaigne (In London town) - overture Op.40
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Sir Roger Norrington (conductor)

12:48 AM
Delius, Frederick [1862-1934]
Sea Drift for baritone, chorus and orchestra
Bryn Terfel (bass-baritone), BBC Symphony Orchestra, Sir Mark Elder (conductor)

1:16 AM
Tippett, Michael [1905-1998]
Suite in D (A Birthday suite for Prince Charles)
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

1:34 AM
Elgar, Edward [1857-1934]
Coronation Ode, Op.44 (1911)
Susan Gritton (soprano), Sarah Connolly (contralto), Robert Murray (tenor), Gerald Finley (bass-baritone), BBC Symphony Orchestra, Edward Gardner (conductor)

2:09 AM
Purcell, Henry (1659-1695)
Chacony a 4 for strings in G minor (Z.730)
Simon Standage (violin), Ensemble Il Tempo: Agata Sapiecha (violin and artistic director), Maria Dudzik (violin), Malgorzata Gologórska (viola), Marcin Zalewski (viol da gamba), Lilianna Stawarz (harpsichord)

2:14 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Motet: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied (BWV.225)
The Sixteen, Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra (Barockformation), Ton Koopman (conductor)

2:31 AM
Grieg, Edvard (1843-1907)
Symphonic Dances (Op.64)
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Bratislava, Ondrej Lenard (conductor)

2:57 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian [1685-1750]
Trio Sonata in C minor from 'Musikalischen Opfer' (BWV.1079)
Tom Ottar Andreassen (flute), Frode Larsen (violin), Emery Cardas (cello), Knut Johanssen (harpsichord)

3:17 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
String Quintet No.2 in G major (Op.111)
Members of Wiener Streichsextett

3:46 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk (1810-1849)
Prelude for piano (Op.45) in C sharp minor
Cedric Tiberghien (piano)

3:52 AM
Moniuszko, Stanislaw (1819-1872)
Overture to Verbum Nobile: Opera in 1 act (1860)
Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jerzy Salwarowski (conductor)

3:57 AM
Korngold, Erich Wolfgang (1897-1957)
Aria: 'Mein Sehnen, mein Wähnen' (from 'Die tote Stadt', Act 2)
Brett Polegato (baritone), Canadian Opera Company Orchestra, Richard Bradshaw (conductor)

4:02 AM
Wagner, Richard (1813-1883)
Siegfried-Idyll for small orchestra
The Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Ervin Lukács (conductor)

4:20 AM
Jacquet de la Guerre, Elisabeth-Claude (1665-1729)
Sonata in D major for 2 violins and continuo
Musica Fiorita: Enrico Parizzi & Roberto Falcone (violins), Rebeka Rusó (Viola da gamba), Rafael Bonavita (theorbo), Daniela Dolci (harpsichord/director)

4:31 AM
Charpentier, Marc-Antoine (1634-1704)
Prelude to Te Deum
European Union Baroque Orchestra, Roy Goodman (conductor)

4:33 AM
Rameau, Jean-Philippe (1683-1764)
Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

4:36 AM
Couperin, François (1668-1733)
Musette de Taverni -- from 'Pièces de clavecin' Ordre No.15
Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

4:39 AM
Fauré, Gabriel (1845-1924)
Pelleas et Melisande - suite (Op.80)
BBC Philharmonic, Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor)

4:55 AM
Sermisy, Claudin de (c.1490-1562)
5 Chansons: 'Au joly boys' (Paris 1538], 'Je ne menge point de porc' , 'Tant que vivray' , 'Vien tost' & 'Tu disoys que j'en mourroys'
Ensemble Clément Janequin

5:05 AM
Dukas, Paul (1865-1935)
Sorcerer's apprentice - symphonic scherzo for orchestra
Orchestre National de France, Charles Dutoit (conductor)

5:18 AM
Duparc, Henri (1848-1933)
La Vie antérieure - for voice and piano (1884)
Gerald Finley (baritone), Stephen Ralls (piano)

5:22 AM
Duparc, Henri (1848-1933)
L'invitation au voyage - for voice and piano (1870)
Gerald Finley (baritone), Stephen Ralls (piano)

5:27 AM
Janequin, Clément (c.1485-1558)
Martin menoit, chanson à 4
Chorus of Swiss-Italian Radio, Stefano Innocenti (conductor)

5:29 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
String Quartet in F major
New Helsinki Quartet

5:59 AM
Chausson, Ernest (1855-1899)
Chanson Perpetuelle (Op.37)
Barbara Hendricks (soprano), Staffan Scheja (piano), Vertavo String Quartet

6:07 AM
Debussy, Claude (1862-1916)
Iberia (Images No 2)
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Jun Märkl (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Mon 4 Feb 2013 00:30