Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Simon Schama

Simon Schama is the first of four prominent historians offering a personal musical narrative inspired by a chosen historical period. Simon looks at the years 1913-1938.
This was a period of enormous artistic variety. The period 1913-1938 took us from the advent of the First World War to the advent of the Second, and the intense political and social turmoil this prompted is reflected in the music that appeared.
Simon's selection begins with the ground-breaking and controversial first performance of Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring and continues with music by Gershwin, Weill, Bartok and Shostakovich among others.

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Sat 2 Feb 2013 15:00