Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from the Royal Festival Hall

Presented by Martin Handley

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, play Mozart's last three Symphonies.

Mozart: Symphony No. 39 in E flat
Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor

8.30: Interval

Mozart: Symphony No. 41 in C (Jupiter)

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Sir Simon Rattle joins the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in a concert featuring Mozart's last three symphonies. Although written in relatively quick succession, these three works offer great contrasts. Symphony No.39 is full of wide, flowing melodies, whilst Symphony No.40 plumbs deep emotional depths and is perhaps one of the most tragic pieces that Mozart penned. Conversely, his last Symphony, No.41 'Jupiter', rounds the evening off in an explosion of sheer joy, energy and exuberance.

Release date:

3 hours

Last on

Tue 29 Jan 2013 19:00

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.