Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Stravinsky, Kimmo Hakola

Live from The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Presented by Martin Handley

In this unique 'Podium Swap' concert, the BBC Philharmonic, conducted by John Storgårds and Håkan Hardenberger and featuring both as soloists, perform works by Stravinsky, Kimmo Hakola and Tobias Broström.

Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments *
Kimmo Hakola: Violin Concerto (UK Premiere) *

BBC Philharmonic
John Storgårds (conductor ** / violin)
Håkan Hardenberger (conductor * / trumpet)

The BBC Philharmonic launches their celebration of Stravinsky's three early ballets with Petrushka, the colourful tale of love and death at a fairground, played tonight in Stravinsky's original version for large orchestra. Closer to home, prepare to be amazed as Håkan Hardenberger, one of the world's greatest trumpeters, joins conductor John Storgårds in a showpiece written especially for him, then takes to the podium to conduct while Storgårds plays a concerto written to display his own incredible violin playing!

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 1 Feb 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.