Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

J Strauss II, Berg

Live from City Halls, Glasgow

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The BBC SSO, conducted by Donald Runnicles, with the first part of a programme of Viennese classics by Strauss, Schubert, Berg and Beethoven.

J Strauss II: Waltz: On the Beautiful Blue Danube
Berg: Violin Concerto

Julian Rachlin violin
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Donald Runnicles conductor

Johann Strauss's unofficial Austrian national anthem begins a dance through the imagination of Vienna, a city whose relationship with tradition can be both as tender as Webern's tribute to Schubert, and as revolutionary as Beethoven's explosive Fifth Symphony. Or, indeed, as personal as Alban Berg's Violin Concerto, dedicated "to the memory of an Angel". Soloist Julian Rachlin, in partnership with Donald Runnicles, uncovers the painful secrets behind the shot-silk beauty of this quintessentially Viennese - yet wholly universal - 20th century masterpiece.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 31 Jan 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.