Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


As part of our Young Performers season violinist Veronika Eberle and pianist Francesco Piemontesi perform works by Mozart and Brahms. Presented by Jonathan Swain.

12:31 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Sonata for violin and piano (K.454) in B flat major
Veronika Eberle (violin), Francesco Piemontesi (piano)

12:53 AM
Brahms, Johannes [1833-1897]
Sonata for violin and piano No.1 (Op.78) in G major
Veronika Eberle (violin), Francesco Piemontesi (piano)

1:20 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Quartet for strings (Op.41 No.3) in A major
Vertavo String Quartet

1:49 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847)
Three Psalms (Op.78)
Chamber Choir AVE, Andraz Hauptman (conductor)

2:09 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Symphony No.35 in D major (K.385), 'Haffner'
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Bjarte Engeset (conductor)

2:31 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Concerto Grosso in A major (Op.6 No.11)
Barbara Jane Gilbey (violin), Tasmanian Symphony Chamber Players

2:48 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Concert aria "Bella mia fiamma.Resta, O cara" (K.528)
Andrea Rost (soprano), Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra, Zoltán Kocsis (conductor)

3:00 AM
Crusell, Bernard Henrik (1775-1838)
Sinfonia concertante for clarinet, bassoon, horn and orchestra in B flat major (Op.3)
Reijo Koskinen (clarinet), Pekka Katajamäki (bassoon), Esa Tukia (horn), Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

3:29 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Toccata and Fugue in F (BWV. 540)
Kaare Nordstoga (organ)

3:44 AM
Grieg, Edvard (1843-1907)
Holberg Suite (Op.40) vers. for string orchestra
The Slovenian Philharmonic String Chamber Orchestra, Andrej Petrač (Artistic leader)

4:04 AM
Wassenaer, Unico Wilhelm van (1692-1766)
Concerto No.4 in G major (from Sei Concerti Armonici 1740)
Combattimento Consort Amsterdam, Jan Willem de Vriend (conductor)

4:14 AM
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Rondo in C minor, Op.1
Ludmil Angelov (piano)

4:23 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
Legend No.4 in C major
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stefan Robl (conductor)

4:31 AM
Humperdinck, Engelbert (1854-1921)
Overture - from Hansel and Gretel
Symphony Nova Scotia, Georg Tintner (conductor)

4:55 AM
Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon (1562-1621)
Onder een Linde groen (49)
Glen Wilson (Johannes Ruckers harpsichord Graf Landsberg-Velen )

5:01 AM
Byrd, William (c.1543-1623)
The woods so wild - variations for keyboard (MB.28.85)
Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

5:06 AM
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Waldesrauschen - from Two Concert studies for piano (S.145)
Lana Genc (piano)

5:10 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
Klid for cello and orchestra (B.182) arr. from no.5 of 'From the Bohemian forest'
Shauna Rolston (cello), Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, Uri Mayer (conductor)

5:17 AM
Doppler, Franz (1821-1883)
L'oiseau des bois (Op.21) - idyll for flute and 4 horns
János Balint (flute), Jeno Kevehazi, Peter Fuzes, Sandor Endrodi, Tibor Maruzsa (horns)

5:22 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Waldszenen - 9 pieces for piano (Op.82)
Stefan Bojsten (piano)

5:48 AM
Malecki, Maciej (b. 1940)
Dziki golab, las i panna - symphonic poem
Polish Radio National Symphony Orchestra in Katowice, Wojciech Michniewski (conductor)

6:05 AM
Schoenberg, Arnold (1874-1951)
Waldsonne (Op.2 No.4)
Arleen Auger (soprano), Irwin Gage (piano)

6:09 AM
Mahler, Gustav (1860-1911)
Ich ging mit lust durch einen grünen Wald (I walked with joy through a green forest)
Arleen Auger (soprano), Irwin Gage (piano)

6:14 AM
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957)
Tapiola - symphonic poem, Op. 112 (1926)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Ilan Volkov (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Mon 28 Jan 2013 00:30