iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Symphony no. 2 in D major Op.36 by Ludwig van Beethoven
Image for Philharmonia - Mendelssohn, Dvorak, Brahms

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia - Mendelssohn, Dvorak, Brahms

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 24 January 2013

Live from the Royal Festival Hall

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The Royal Philharmonic Society Bicentenary Concert: the Philharmonia, conducted by Tugan Sokhiev and with violinist Akiko Suwanai, play Mendelssohn, Dvořák & Brahms.

Mendelssohn: Overture, A Midsummer Night's Dream

Dvořák: Violin Concerto

Brahms: Symphony No. 1

Akiko Suwanai, violin
Tugan Sokhiev, conductor

On 24 January 1813 a group of musicians, music dealers and publishers met in London and founded the Philharmonic Society. For two hundred years the Royal Philharmonic Society has created a future for music by commissioning new music and supporting composers and musicians throughout the UK and abroad. In this concert, conductor Tugan Sokhiev's and the Philharmonia celebrate the Royal Philharmonic Society's Bicentenary with three composers closely associated with the Society's life and history.

Music Played

6 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Image for Felix Mendelssohn

      Felix Mendelssohn A Midsummer night's dream - incidental music Op.61

      Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev (1977) Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Image for Antonin Dvorak

      Antonin Dvorak Concerto in A minor Op.53 for violin and orchestra

      Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev (1977) Performer: Akiko Suwanai Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

  • Interval

  • Image for Felix Mendelssohn

    Felix Mendelssohn Octet in E flat major Op.20 for strings

    Conductor: Thomas Beecham Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

    Dutton, 2CDEA5025

  • Image for Francis Poulenc

    Francis Poulenc Sonata, arr. L. Berkeley for flute & orchestra [orig. for flute & piano]

    Conductor: Paul Daniel Performer: Katherine Bryan Performer: Royal Scottish National Orchestra

    Linn, CKD367

  • Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Image for Johannes Brahms

      Johannes Brahms Symphony no. 1 in C minor Op.68

      Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev (1977) Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss