Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Elgar, Qigang Chen

Presented by Martin Handley

Live from the Barbican Centre, London

Elgar: Overture 'Cockaigne' (In London Town)
Qigang Chen: Reflet d'un temps disparu (London premiere)

Li-Wei Qin (cello)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Long Yu (conductor)

London is the theme for this lively evening, beginning with Elgar's scintillating overture and ending with Haydn's final symphony, written during his last stay in our capital city. Blazing with wit, craft and earthiness, it captures the essence of the composer. The city is conjured up again by Hong-Kong born Raymond Yiu, already acclaimed for his intricate blend of Western and Eastern sonorities. He describes his piece 'The London Citizen Exceedingly Injured', which takes its title from an 18th century pamphlet about madhouses, as a 'symphonic game' which takes its musical cues from Elgar's Cockaigne Overture and the nursery rhyme 'Oranges and Lemons'. Cellist Li-Wei Qin joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra to perform a new work by Chinese-French composer Qigang Chen. To conduct the concert is Long Yu, Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the China Philharmonic Orchestra, making his debut with the orchestra.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 18 Jan 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.