iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Episode 2

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 2

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 01 January 2013

Louise Fryer presents highlights from the 2012 Lucerne and Verbier Festivals. Today's programme from these highly prestigious Swiss festivals features Leonidas Kavakos as soloist in Korngold's Violin Concerto, Yuja Wang in Rachmaninov's 2nd Piano Concerto and Bruckner's mighty Romantic Symphony in a performance by the Cleveland Orchestra.

Strauss: Overture - Die Fledermaus
Korngold: Violin Concerto in D
Leonidas Kavakos (violin)
Verbier Festival Orchestra
Manfred Honeck (conductor)

Barber: Adagio for Strings
Royal Concertgebouw
Mariss Jansons (conductor)

Bruckner: Symphony no.4 in E flat 'Romantic'
Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto no. 2 in C minor
Yuja Wang (piano)
Verbier Festival Orchestra
Yuri Temirkanov (conductor).

Music Played

5 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes



  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss