Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 64: Berlin Philharmonic

Another chance to hear one of the highlights of the 2012 Proms season.

Presented by Andrew McGregor

The Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle in their second Proms appearance perform music by Brahms and Lutoslawski.

The orchestra is joined by distinguished pianist Yefim Bronfman who is soloist in Brahms's mighty Second Piano Concerto, known for its technical difficulty, length and for the fact that the pianist has to share some of the limelight with the lead cellist who has a beautiful three-minute solo at the start of the slow movement. Lutoslawski's Third Symphony was completed in the early 1980s during a troubled period in the composer's native Poland, it combines experimental techniques with craftsmanship, conviction and lyricism.

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major
Lutoslawski: Symphony No.3

Yefim Bronfman (piano)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Simon Rattle (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 28 Dec 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.