Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Gershwin, Prokofiev

Live from Wigmore Hall

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Charismatic American violin virtuoso Joshua Bell is joined by his long-time British accompanist Sam Haywood in music by Schubert, Richard Strauss and Prokofiev.

Gershwin arr. Heifetz: Three Preludes

Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Op. 94bis

Joshua Bell, violin

Sam Haywood, piano

Since his debut at the age of 14 with the Philadelphia Orchestra under Riccardo Muti, Joshua Bell has been at the forefront of American violinists. His real passion for nineteenth-centiry chamber music is evident in the first half, with the comparatively rarely-heard Schubert Rondo in B minor, and the Violin Sonata that Richard Strauss composed around 1888, after he had fallen in love with his future wife Pauline de Ahna. Prokofiev's Second Violin Sonata is a wartime piece, composed in 1942 for flute, and rearranged for violin the following year - betraying nothing of the events of the time, it is lyrical, elegant and classical. We are promised some extra pieces to be announced from the stage.

Release date:

1 hour, 25 minutes

Last on

Tue 11 Dec 2012 20:35

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.