iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Quartet in C sharp minor Op.131 for strings by Ludwig van Beethoven
Image for Schubert, Strauss

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Schubert, Strauss

45 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 11 December 2012

Live from Wigmore Hall

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Charismatic American violin virtuoso Joshua Bell is joined by his long-time British accompanist Sam Haywood in music by Schubert, Richard Strauss and Prokofiev.

Schubert: Rondo in B minor D895

Strauss: Violin Sonata in Eb Op. 18

Joshua Bell, violin

Sam Haywood, piano

Since his debut at the age of 14 with the Philadelphia Orchestra under Riccardo Muti, Joshua Bell has been at the forefront of American violinists. His real passion for nineteenth-centiry chamber music is evident in the first half, with the comparatively rarely-heard Schubert Rondo in B minor, and the Violin Sonata that Richard Strauss composed around 1888, after he had fallen in love with his future wife Pauline de Ahna. Prokofiev's Second Violin Sonata is a wartime piece, composed in 1942 for flute, and rearranged for violin the following year - betraying nothing of the events of the time, it is lyrical, elegant and classical. We are promised some extra pieces to be announced from the stage.

Music Played

6 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Franz Schubert

    Franz Schubert Rondo brillant in B minor D.895

    Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)

  • Image for Richard Strauss

    Richard Strauss Sonata in E flat major Op.18

    Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)

  • Image for George Gershwin

    George Gershwin 3 Preludes

    Arranger: Heifetz Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)

  • Image for Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev

    Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev Sonata no. 2 in D major Op.94a

    Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)

  • Image for Pablo de Sarasate

    Pablo de Sarasate Zigeunerweisen Op.20

    Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)

  • Image for Frédéric Chopin

    Frédéric Chopin Nocturne (Op.posth) in C sharp minor

    Arranger: Joshua Bell Performer: Joshua Bell (violin) Performer: Sam Haywood (piano)


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss