Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Berio, Verdi

Live from the Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Louise Fryer
The BBC Symphony Orchestra & Chorus perform Verdi's choral masterwork Four Sacred Pieces. Synergy Vocals join the BBC SO for Berio's thrilling Sinfonia. And Josep Pons conducts.

Berio: Sinfonia

8.10 Interval music

Verdi orch. Berio: 8 Romanze for tenor and orchestra

Verdi: Four Sacred Pieces

Sarah Jane Brandon (soprano)
Atalla Ayan (tenor)
Synergy Vocals
BBC Symphony Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Josep Pons (conductor)

Luciano Berio's Sinfonia from 1969 is one of the most startling and original works of the 20th century - fragments of text decrying war and social segregation jostle with quotations from the classical canon in a shimmering multi-layered melee. The eight voices of Synergy Vocals join the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

It was Berio, too, who penned the imaginative orchestration of Verdi's rarely-performed Eight Romances for tenor and orchestra, here featuring the exciting young Brazilian Atalla Ayan.

The concert ends with soprano Sarah-Jane Brandon and the BBC Symphony Chorus joining the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Josep Pons for the master of Italian opera's Four Sacred Pieces, including the Ave Maria for unaccompanied chorus.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 7 Dec 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.