Playing: Pastoral Suite for flute, harp and strings (Op.13b) by Gunnar de Frumerie
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Maxwell Davies, Tchaikovsky

Live from the Barbican Hall in London.

Presented by Martin Handley

The Queen's Medal for Music has been presented annually since 2005. The 2012 award will be announced at this LSO concert, conducted by Robin Ticciati. An LSO commission opens the programme, a Fanfare by Peter Maxwell Davies, in its world premiere performance. The orchestra is joined by Maxim Vengerov for Tchaikovsky's virtuosic masterpiece for the violin.

The award will be presented after the interval, followed by one of the best-known and well-loved works in the English repertoire: Elgar's Enigma Variations.

Peter Maxwell Davies: Fanfare: Her Majesty's Welcome (LSO commission)
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto

Maxim Vengerov (violin)
London Symphony Orchestra
conductor Robin Ticciati.

45 minutes

Last on

Wed 5 Dec 2012 19:30
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss