iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: 'I Got Rhythm' Variations for piano and orchestra by George Gershwin
Image for Sibelius

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


40 minutes
First broadcast:
Wednesday 21 November 2012

Live from The Lighthouse, Poole

Presented by Martin Handley

The young rising star Benjamin Grosvenor takes centre stage with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra for Grieg's Piano concerto. Sibelius's 4th symphony opens the concert - a dark work with a sense of foreboding, but a fascinating piece. Tchaikovsky ends the programme, with his stormy take on Dante's story of the fallen lovers condemned to whirl through hell together for eternity.

Sibelius: Symphony No.4

Benjamin Grosvenor (piano)
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
conductor James Gaffigan

The fourth symphony was once considered to be the strangest of Sibelius's symphonies, but today it is regarded as one of the peaks of his output. Sibelius was proud of the work and later said "I am pleased that I did it, for even today I cannot find a single note in it that I could remove, nor can I find anything to add."

Grieg's highly lyrical and romantic piano concerto remains a favourite for both pianists and audiences alike. The final composer in tonight's programme, Tchaikovsky, was one of Grieg's admirers, and said of the work "there prevails that fascinating melancholy which seems to reflect in itself all the beauty of Norwegian scenery."

When Tchaikovsky read Dante's epic The Divine Comedy, an episode from the Inferno fired his imagination: the tale of Francesca, a young woman who has been condemned to eternal damnation because of an illicit love affair. Tchaikovsky vividly depicts the driving winds of hell before a solo clarinet launches Francesca's tale, and the music builds in a long crescendo of passion.

Music Played

4 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Bournemouth S O part 1

    • Image for Jean Sibelius

      Jean Sibelius Symphony no. 4 in A minor Op.63

      Conductor: James GAFFIGAN Performer: Bournemouth S O

  • Bournemouth S O part 2

    • Image for Edvard Grieg

      Edvard Grieg Concerto in A minor Op.16 for piano and orchestra

      Conductor: James GAFFIGAN Performer: Benjamin GROSVENOR - Piano Performer: Bournemouth S O

    • Image for Franz Liszt

      Franz Liszt 2 Concert studies S.145 for piano - no.2 Gnomenreigen

      Performer: Benjamin GROSVENOR - Piano

    • Image for Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

      Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Francesca da Rimini - symphonic fantasia after Dante Op.32

      Conductor: James GAFFIGAN Performer: Bournemouth S O


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss