iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Rachmaninov

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


1 hour, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 12 November 2012

Live from Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff

Presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas

The BBC National Orchestra of Wales plays Elgar's Cockaigne Overture, Bruch's 1st Violin Concerto - with Tasmin Little as soloist - and Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances.

Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Tasmin Little: violin
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
David Atherton, conductor

Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances and Elgar's Cockaigne overflow with scintillating energy and as well as warmth and good humour. And there's intense youthful passion to be found in Bruch's First Violin Concerto, a jewel of romantic violin music, played here by Tasmin Little.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss