iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for BBC NOW - Wagner, Brahms, Zemlinsky

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC NOW - Wagner, Brahms, Zemlinsky

2 hours
First broadcast:
Sunday 11 November 2012

From St David's Hall, Cardiff

Presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas

BBC NOW, conducted by Jac Van Steen, plays Brahm's Violin Concerto (with Viviane Hagner) and Zemlinsky's Lyric Symphony.

Wagner: Lohengrin, Prelude to Act 1
Brahms: Violin Concerto
Zemlinsky: Lyric Symphony

Elizabeth Atherton, soprano
Roman Trekel, baritone
Viviane Hagner, Violin
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Jac Van Steen, conductor

The music of Wagner and works like Brahms's majestic and lyrical Violin Concerto influenced the rich late romantic splendour of Zemlinsky's music. His masterpiece is the Lyric Symphony, which explores the yearning and fulfilment of love. Using words from The Gardener by Rabindranath Tagore, the Symphony begins with restlessness - "I am athirst for far-away things"- and ends in acceptance: "Peace, my heart, let the time for the parting be sweet." Jac van Steen conducts it for the first time in Cardiff.

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss