Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

In the final programme of this week's focus on Dutch orchestras and ensembles the Royal Concertgebouw under Valery Gergiev perform Prokofiev and Sibelius, for which they are joined by Leonidas Kavakos. Plus Combattimento Consort Amsterdam perform Bach, and Residentie Orchestra, The Hague play Smetana.

Presented by Louise Fryer.

Schubert: Overture in the Italian Style in C, D.591
Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic
Olari Elts (conductor)

Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op,47
Prokofiev: Symphony no.5 in B flat, Op.100
Leonidas Kavakos (violin)
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Valery Gergiev (condouctor)

Stravinsky: Variations on Von Himmel hoch da komm' ich her' by Bach, BWV.769
Netherlands Radio Choir
Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic
Philippe Herreweghe (conductor)

Bach: Orchestral Suite no.2 in B minor, BWV.1067
Combattimento Consort Amsterdam
Jan Willem de Vriend (conductor)

Smetana: Ma Vlast; Vysehrad & Vltava
Residentie Orchestra, The Hague
Krzysztof Urbanski (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 9 Nov 2012 14:00