Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Presented by Stuart Flinders

The Hallé orchestra, conducted by Sir Mark Elder, perform Nielsen's Violin Concerto with Henning Kraggerud and Beethoven's Overture the Ruins of Athens and Rachmaninoff's Third Symphony.

Beethoven: Overture - the Ruins of Athens
Nielsen: Violin Concerto

Henning Kraggerud (violin)
Sir Mark Elder (conductor)

Sir Mark Elder leads The Hallé orchestra as they combine Rachmaninov's much loved and highly romantic Third Symphony with Beethoven's dramatic overture to the Ruins of Athens. They are also joined by the acclaimed Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud for Carl Nielsen's rarely heard 1911 Violin Concerto.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 1 Nov 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.