Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Scottish Ensemble - Mozart, Purcell, Bach, Britten, Schumann

Live from Wigmore Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

The Scottish Ensemble, directed by Jonathan Morton, plays works by Mozart, Purcell, Bach, Britten and Schumann at the Wigmore Hall.

Mozart: Divertimento in D K136

Purcell: Fantasias (a selection); Dance of Furies from Dioclesian

Bach: Violin Concerto in E for violin

8.10: Interval

Britten (arr. J Morton): Three Divertimenti
Schumann (arr. J Morton): String Quartet in A Op. 41 No. 3

Scottish Ensemble
Jonathan Morton, director, violin

The UK's only professional string orchestra, led by Artistic Director Jonathan Morton, returns to Wigmore Hall with a concert to celebrate Benjamin Britten's approaching centenary year. The programme casts light on music by composers close to Britten's heart and builds on his legacy of arranging chamber works for larger ensembles.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 30 Oct 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.