iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: African suite for harp and strings (1944) by Fęlá Şowándé
Image for 22/10/2012

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


5 hours, 10 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 22 October 2012

Piano Season on the BBC . Jonathan Swain presents

1:15 AM
Scriabin, Alexander (1872-1915)
Poème in F sharp (Op.32 No.1)
Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) (piano)

Rachmaninov, Sergey (1873-1943)
6 Moments musicaux, Op.16
Lazar Berman (piano)

Rachmaninov, Sergey (1873-1943)
Prelude No.5 in G minor (Op.23/5)
Vladimir Horowitz (piano)

Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)
4 Studies for piano (Op.7)
Nikita Magaloff (piano)

Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971) transcribed Stravinsky
Three movements from Petrushka
Shura Cherkassky (piano)

Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953)
Sonata No.7 in B flat (Op.83)
Sviatoslav Richter (piano)

Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
From 24 Preludes for piano (Op.28): nos.4-11, 19 and 17
Sviatoslav Richter (piano)

Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Mazurka No.4 in B minor - from Mazurkas for piano (Op.33)
Ossip Gabrilowitsch (piano)

03.08 AM
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Barcarolle in F sharp major (Op.60)
Anna Essipoff (1851-1914) (piano)

Rubinstein, Anton (1829-1894), transcribed by Josef Lhevinne (1874-1944)
Kamennoi Ostrov (Op.10 No.22)
Josef Lhévinne (1874-1944) (piano)

Stamitz, Johann (1717-1757)
Concerto for clarinet and orchestra in B flat major (1750)
Jann Engel (clarinet), Capella Coloniensis, Hans-Martin Linde (conductor)

Henriques, Fini (1867-1940)
Air for string orchestra
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Børge Wagner (conductor)

3:49 AM
Purcell, Henry [1659-1695]
Sonata No.6 for 2 violins and continuo in G minor (Z.807)
Il Tempo Ensemble

3:56 AM
Rossi, Camilla de- "La Romana" fl.1707-1710
Duol sofferto per Amore' - Alessio's aria from the oratorio Sant'Alessio
Martin Oro (Alessio : counter-tenor), Musica Fiorita, Daniela Dolci (director)

04.03 AM
Kajanus, Robert (1856-1933)
Aino - symphonic poem for male chorus and orchestra (1885)
Helsinki University Choir, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jorma Panula (conductor)

4:18 AM
Bacewicz, Grazyna (1909-1969)
Krakowiak for orchestra
Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jan Krenz (conductor)

04.23 AM
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da [c.1525-1594]
Stabat Mater for 8 voices
Theatrum Instrumentorum, Chorus of Swiss Radio, Lugano, Diego Fasolis (conductor)

4:30 AM
Walton, William [1902-1983]
Johannesburg Festival Overture
Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, David Atherton (conductor)

4:39 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Divertimento (Concerto) (K.113) in E flat major
Saarbrücken Radio Symphony Orchestra, Myung-Whun Chung (conductor)

4:53 AM
Hotteterre, Jean (1677-1720) edited by François Lazarevitch
La Noce Champêtre ou l'Himen Pastoral -- from Pièces pour la Muzette, Paris 1722 [a

5:06 AM
Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon (1562-1621)
Psalm 23 from 5 Psalms of David (1604)
Netherlands Chamber Choir, Philippe Herreweghe (conductor)

05.14 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Symphony No. 43 in E flat major "Mercury" (H. 1/43)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Balazs Kocsar (conductor)

5:36 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Geistliches Wiegenlied (Op.91 No.2)
Judita Leitaite (mezzo-soprano), Arunas Statkus (viola), Andrius Vasiliauskas (piano)

5:43 AM
Novak, Vitezslav (1870-1949)
Trio for piano and strings in D minor (Op.27) 'quasi una ballata'
Suk Trio: Joseph Suk (violin), Josef Chuchro (cello), Jan Panenka (piano)

06.00 AM
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957)
En Saga (1st version of 1892)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

06.21 AM
Popper, David (1843-1913)
Hungarian Fantasy (Op.68)
Shauna Rolston (cello), Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Mario Bernardi (conductor).

Music Played

24 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss