iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for BBC Symphony Orchestra - Tippett, Wagner

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Tippett, Wagner

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 19 October 2012

Live from the Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Martin Handley

The Leopold Trio joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra and conductor Mark Wigglesworth for Michael Tippett's Triple Concerto, followed by an Orchestral Adventure on Wagner's Ring Cycle.

Tippett: Triple Concerto

8.05 Interval Music

Wagner arr. Henk de Vlieger: The Ring - an Orchestral Adventure

The Leopold Trio: Isabelle van Keulen (violin), Lawrence Power (viola), Kate Gould (cello)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Mark Wigglesworth (conductor)

The BBC Symphony Orchestra's Michael Tippett series opens with a rare opportunity to hear the Triple Concerto, a masterpiece of his late period when he confessed that he had 'turned my back with some pleasure on the cruel world'. And complementing Radio 3's broadcasts of the Ring from the Royal Opera House, the concert concludes with Henk de Vlieger's exuberant Orchestral Adventure through all the major scenes of Wagner's great opera cycle, beginning with Das Rheingold's magnificent Prelude and culminating in the destruction of the Gods and Valhalla.

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Richard Strauss

    Richard Strauss Burleske in D minor, for piano and orchestra

  • BBC SO at the Barbican

    • Image for Sir Michael Tippett

      Sir Michael Tippett Concerto for violin, viola, cello and orchestra

      Conductor: Mark WIGGLESWORTH Performer: Isabelle van KEULEN - Violin Performer: Kate GOULD - Cello Performer: Lawrence POWER - Viola Performer: BBC S O. Performer: Leopold String Trio

    • Image for Richard Wagner

      Richard Wagner The Ring - an orchestral adventure, arr. Henk de Vlieger

      Conductor: Mark WIGGLESWORTH Performer: BBC S O.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.