Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Human League

Stuart features the early dark-electronic sounds of The Human League as part of 6 Music Celebrates Sheffield.

The Golden Hour of The Future is a compilation of tracks recorded by the band in their early incarnations, prior to several member-changes and a deal with Virgin records.

Released in 2002, the album features 20 rare tracks, recorded in various studios and an abandoned factory in Sheffield, between 1977 and 1979.

It was compiled by record producer Richard X who has worked with the likes of New Order, Soft Cell, Depeche Mode & Nine Inch Nails.

The Golden Hour of The Future showcases the early dark-electronic sounds that The Human League would later move away from, in favour of commercially successful synth-pop.

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Sun 7 Oct 2012 20:00

Freaky Tracks Playlist


Follow our essential Freaky Tracks BBC Music Playlist, with Frank Zappa, Tortoise & more