iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Concertino for piano and chamber orchestra (Op.3) "en style ancien" by Dinu Lipatti
Image for Episode 4

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 4

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 28 September 2012

West Cork Chamber Music Festival 4/4

Sean Rafferty makes his last visit to the south west tip of Ireland and the town of Bantry in West Cork. Shostakovich's Fourth String Quartet was composed in 1949 and is dedicated to the memory of Shostakovich's close friend, Pyotr Vladimirovich Vil'yams, who was a Russian stage designer and a painter noted for his portraits, one of which was of Shostakovich himself. The quartet contains music of great beauty and sorrow.
Mozart's Clarinet Quintet was completed in 1789 and written for the clarintettist Anton Stadler, who had demonstrated the full possibilities of this "little-known" instrument to Mozart. The result is one of the finest pieces of chamber music for the instrument.

Shostakovich: String Quartet No.4 in D major Op.83
Apollon Musagete Quartet

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major K.581
Christoffer Sundqvist (clarinet), Signum Quartet.

Music Played

2 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Dmitri Shostakovich

    Dmitri Shostakovich String Quartet No.4 in D major Op.83

    Performer: Apollon Musagete Quartet

  • Image for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A major K.581

    Performer: Christoffer Sundqvist(clarinet);Signum Quartet


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss