On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Polovtsian dances from 'Prince Igor' by Alexander Borodin
Image for Tchaikovsky

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


1 hour, 20 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 18 September 2012

Live from Cadogan Hall, London.

Presented by Martin Handley.

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra begin their new London season with Wagner's exhilarating Overture to The Flying Dutchman. The Violin Concerto by Sibelius is among his best-loved works, combining passionate lyricism and dazzling display with more than a hint of Mediterranean. The Concerto finds an exciting exponent in violinist Jack Liebeck, winner of the 2010 Classical BRIT Award for 'Young British Performer of the Year'.
Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony is one of his most powerful works, charting an intense struggle against the caprices of Fate, culminating in an electrifying finale in which the battle seems to have been won.

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.4

Jack Liebeck, violin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Enrique Bátiz, conductor.

Music Played

4 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra part 1

    • Image for Richard Wagner

      Richard Wagner Der Fliegende Hollander - overture

      Conductor: Enrique BATIZ Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

    • Image for Jean Sibelius

      Jean Sibelius Concerto in D minor Op.47 for violin and orchestra

      Conductor: Enrique BATIZ Performer: Jack LIEBECK - Violin Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

  • encore

    • Image for Johann Sebastian Bach

      Johann Sebastian Bach Sarabande from Partita no. 2 in D minor BWV.1004 for violin solo

      Performer: Jack LIEBECK - Violin

  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra part 2

    • Image for Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

      Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony no. 4 in F minor Op.36

      Conductor: Enrique BATIZ Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss