iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for 04/09/2012

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Tuesday 04 September 2012

John Shea presents Monteverdi's Vespers with Ars Nova and Concerto Copenhagen conducted by Paul Hillier.

12:31 AM
Scheidt, Samuel [1587-1654]
Variations on John Dowland's 'The King of Denmark's Galliard'
Sven-Ingvart Mikkelsen (organ)

12:38 AM
Monteverdi, Claudio [1567-1643]
Vespro della Beata Vergine (1610)
Ars Nova, Concerto Copenhagen, Paul Hillier (conductor)

2:04 AM
Praetorius, Michael [c.1571-1621]
Nun lob mein Seel den Herren
Sven-Ingvart Mikkelsen (organ)

2:11 AM
Grieg, Edvard (1843-1907)
Holberg Suite (Op.40)
Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, Terje Tønnesen (conductor)

2:31 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770 -1827)
Sonata for piano no. 7 (Op.10 No.3) in D major
Ingrid Fliter (piano)

2:53 AM
Hummel, Johann Nepomuk (1778-1837)
Trumpet Concerto in E flat major (originally in E major)
Odin Hagen (trumpet), Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Per Kristian Skalstad (conductor)

3:12 AM
Donizetti, Gaetano (1797-1848)
Quel guardo il cavaliere, Norina's Cavatina from Act 1, scene 2 of Don Pasquale
Adriana Marfisi (soprano), Oslo Philharmonic, Nello Santi (conductor)

3:19 AM
Janácek, Leos (1854-1928)
String Quartet No.2 'Listy duverne' (Intimate letters)
Orlando Quartet

3:45 AM
Smetana, Bedrich (1824-1884)
Ma Vlast No 2 - Vltava
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Richard Hickox (conductor)

3:58 AM
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Barcarolle for piano (Op.60) in F sharp major
Ronald Brautigam (piano)

4:07 AM
Corelli, Arcangelo (1653-1713)
Sonate da Chiesa in D major (Op.1 No.12)
London Baroque

4:13 AM
Rossini, Gioachino (1792-1868)
Quartet No.1 in F major for flute, clarinet, bassoon and horn
Canberra Wind Soloists

4:25 AM
Scarlatti, Domenico (1685-1757)
Sonata in E major, KK.380
Ivetta Irkha (piano)

4:31 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden (BWV.230)
Tafelmusik Chamber Choir, Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Ivars Taurins (conductor)

4:37 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847)
Die schöne Melusine - overture (Op.32)
The Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Takuo Yuasa (conductor)

4:49 AM
Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958)
Romance for viola and piano
Steven Dann (viola), Bruce Vogt (piano)

4:56 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Concerto Grosso in B flat major (Op.3 No.1)
Elar Kuiv (violin), Olev Ainomae (oboe), Estonian Radio Chamber Orchestra, Paul Mägi (conductor)

5:06 AM
Messiaen, Olivier (1908-1992)
O Sacrum Convivium!
BBC Singers, Stephen Cleobury (conductor)

5:10 AM
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Scherzo No.2 in B flat minor (Op.31)
Alex Slobodyanik (piano)

5:21 AM
Szymanowski, Karol (1882-1937)
String Quartet No.2 (Op.56)
Silesian Quartet

5:39 AM
Poulenc, Francis (1899-1963)
Concert champêtre for harpsichord and orchestra
Jory Vinikour (harpsichord), Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, Marc Minkowski (conductor)

6:05 AM
Dauvergne, Antoine (1713-1797)
Concert de simphonies à IV parties in F major (Op.3 No.2)
Capella Coloniensis, William Christie (harpsichord and director)

6:26 AM
Fucik, Julius (1872-1916)
Entry of the Gladiators
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jiri Belohlávek (conductor).

Music Played

23 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.