From the New World

Image for From the New WorldNot currently available on BBC iPlayer

Duration: 2 hours

Music and artists from both American continents in tonight's concert from the Royal Albert Hall. The Prom opens with Dvořák's symphonic masterpiece From the New World, and the second half includes Copland's iconic Fanfare for the Common Man and Joan Tower's Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman. Works by Villa-Lobos and Ginastera add some attractive Latin American colour in a concert marking the first visit to the Proms by the Sao Paulo Symphony Orchestra as well as the return of distinguished Brazilian pianist Nelson Freire and conductor Marin Alsop.


Katie Derham
Matthew Woodward
Marin Alsop


Listen and Watch

Listen and Watch

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss