Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


BBC Proms, 2012, Prom 64 Episode 1 of 2

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

The Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle in their second Proms appearance perform music by Brahms and Lutoslawski.

The orchestra is joined by distinguished pianist Yefim Bronfman who is soloist in Brahms's mighty Second Piano Concerto, known for its technical difficulty, length and for the fact that the pianist has to share some of the limelight with the lead cellist who has a beautiful three-minute solo at the start of the slow movement. Lutoslawski's Third Symphony was completed in the early 1980s during a troubled period in the composer's native Poland, it combines experimental techniques with craftsmanship, conviction and lyricism.

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major

Yefim Bronfman (piano)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Simon Rattle (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 31 Aug 2012 19:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from BBC Proms

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up