iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : The Essay
Samuel Beckett - Happy Days - 3. Beckett expert Dr Mark Nixon on editing a Beckett story 80 years after it was written
Image for PCM 07 - Christine Schafer, Nash Ensemble

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

PCM 07 - Christine Schafer, Nash Ensemble

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 27 August 2012

Presented by Clemency Burton-Hill

A recital given by the Nash Ensemble performing one of this season's featured composers, Debussy, with one of his last works, the lyrical and Autumnal Sonata for flute, viola and harp. That's contrasted by Schoenberg's extraordinary Expressionist melodrama Pierrot Lunaire, in which a murderous Pierrot's story is told by 'sprechgesang'. This half-speech half-sung style is something of a trademark for soprano Christine Schäfer, who joins the Nash Ensemble.

Debussy: Sonata for flute, viola and harp
Schoenberg: Pierrot Lunaire

Christine Schäfer (Sprechstimme)
Nash Ensemble
Martyn Brabbins (conductor).

Music Played

2 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


    Everything you need to explore the music in this Prom, including related broadcasts and clips.

    Explore this Prom.


Listen and Watch

Listen and Watch

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss