iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Ode on 77th Psalm 'Das Vertrauen der Christen auf Gott' by Johann Ernst Bach
Image for Shostakovich

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

More episodes

See all episodes from BBC Proms


BBC Proms, 2012 Season, Prom 54 Episode 2 of 2

1 hour, 15 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 23 August 2012

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philarmonic Orchestra in contrasting symphonies by Peter Maxwell Davies and Shostakovich and Tasmin Little performs Delius's rhapsodic Violin Concerto

The concert opens with a work to celebrate Her Majesty's Diamond Jubilee, composed by the Master of the Queen's Music, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. This is the London premiere of his Symphony no.9, a one movement work for orchestra and brass sextet. Vasily Petrenko and the RLPO premiered this work in Liverpool earlier this year in June. Violinist Tasmin Little is a passionate champion of Delius's music, and she joins the Orchestra in a performance of Delius' violin concerto, to mark the 150th anniversary of the composer's birth. The concert concludes with a performance of Shostakovich's Tenth Symphony; the RLPO under conductor Vasily Petrenko are known for their high-voltage performances of this dramatic repertoire.

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 in E minor

Tasmin Little (violin)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

This Prom will be repeated on Tuesday 4th September at 2pm.



    Everything you need to explore the music in this Prom, including related broadcasts and clips.

    Explore this Prom.


Listen and Watch

Listen and Watch

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss