iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for 18/08/2012

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Saturday 18 August 2012

Jonathan Swain presents a concert from the Chopin & his Europe Festival in Warsaw, with two young and upcoming pianists playing Mozart and Paderewski concertos.

1:01 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 9 (K.271) in E flat major ('Jeunehomme')
Plamena Mangova (piano), Wroclaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Jacek Kaspszyk (conductor)

1:33 AM
Schubert, Franz [1797-1828]; Liszt, Franz [1811-1886]
Der Atlas from "Schwanengesang" (D.957)
Plamena Mangova (piano)

1:36 AM
Paderewski, Ignacy Jan [1860-1941]
Concerto for piano and orchestra (Op.17) in A minor
Michal Szymanowski (piano), Wroclaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Jacek Kaspszyk (conductor)

2:12 AM
Paderewski, Ignacy Jan [1860-1941]
Mazurka in A major, Op.9 no.3 (from 'Danses Polonaises')
Michal Szymanowski (piano)

2:15 AM
Schumann, Robert [1810-1856]
Symphony No.1 in B flat major (Op.38) 'Spring'
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Tamás Vásáry (conductor)

2:47 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk [1810-1849]
Fantasie in F minor (Op.49)
Xaver Scharwenka (piano)

3:01 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750) arr. Andrew Manze
Toccata and Fugue in D minor (BWV.565) - reconstructed for violin solo by Andrew Manze
Andrew Manze (violin)

3:09 AM
Grechaninov, Alexandr Tikhonovich (1864-1956)
Missa Festiva (Op.154) (1937), for 4 part chorus and organ
Radio France Chorus, Yves Castagnet (organ), Vladislav Chernuchenko (conductor)

3:32 AM
Saint-Saens, Camille [1835-1921]
Concerto for Cello & Orchestra No 1 (Op.33) in A minor
Luca Sulic (cello), Slovenian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Shuntaro Sato (conductor)

3:53 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Sonata in E minor (Hob.XVI.34)
Andreas Staier (fortepiano)

4:08 AM
Mathias, William [1934-1992]
A May magnificat for double chorus (Op.79 No.2)
BBC Singers, Stephen Cleobury (conductor)

4:18 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
5 Hungarian dances (nos.17-21) orch. Dvorak
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Eivind Aadland (conductor)

4:30 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Gestillte Sehnsucht for alto, viola and piano (Op 91 No.1)
Marianne Beate Kielland (mezzo), Morten Carlsen (viola), Sergej Osadchuk (piano)

4:36 AM
Berlioz, Hector (1803-1869)
Le Roi Lear - overture (Op.4)
BBC Philharmonic, Vassily Sinaisky (conductor)

4:53 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Meine Seele hört im Sehen (HWV.207) - No.6 from Deutsche Arien
Hélène Plouffe (violin), Louise Pellerin (oboe), Dom André Laberge (organ)

5:01 AM
Ranta, Sulho (1901-1960)
Finnish Folk Dances - suite for orchestra (Op.51)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

5:10 AM
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953)
Balcony Scene from the ballet suite Romeo and Juliet arr. Borisovsky for viola and piano
Gyözö Máté (viola), Balázs Szokolay (piano)

5:15 AM
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953)
Dance of the Knights from the ballet suite Romeo and Juliet arr. Borisovsky for viola and piano
Gyözö Máté (viola), Balázs Szokolay (piano)

5:21 AM
Provenzale, Francesco (c.1626-1704)
2 arias: 'Io pur vi miro' & 'Me sento 'na cosa' - from the opera 'Il schiavo di sua moglie'
Roberta Invernizzi (soprano), Rosario Totaro (tenor), Cappella della Pietà dé Turchini, Antonio Florio (director)

5:28 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Rondo concertante for violin and orchestra (K.269) in B flat major
James Ehnes (violin/director), Mozart Anniversary Orchestra

5:36 AM
Scarlatti, Domenico [1685-1757]
Sonata in D major (K.96)
Andreas Staier (harpsichord)

5:41 AM
Svendsen, Johan [1840-1911]
Symphony No.2 in B flat major (Op.15)
Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Ari Rasilainen (conductor)

6:16 AM
Valentini, Giuseppe (1681-1753)
Ecco vicine, o bella tigre, a 9
La Capella Ducale, Musica Fiata Köln

6:22 AM
Stants, Iet (1903-1968)
String Quartet No.2
Dufy Quartet

6:36 AM
Holland, Jan David (1746-1827)
Agatha, or the Arrival of the Master - Overture
Concerto Polacco, Marek Toporowski (director)

6:42 AM
Ravel, Maurice [1875-1937]
Sonata for violin and piano in G major
Alina Ibragimova (violin), Cédric Tiberghien (piano).

Music Played

26 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss