Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

PCM 04: Pike, Altstaedt, Levit

Live from Cadogan Hall, London

Presented by Clemency Burton-Hill

Three leading soloists join forces to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Debussy.

French composer Claude Debussy was one of the most forward-looking of early 20th century composers so his return to Classical form in these late Sonatas is one last party-trick from a composer who constantly rebelled and surprised. Ravel's Piano Trio was written in 1914 just as the First World War broke out. Finishing it at break-neck speed so he could enlist, he said he composed it 'with the sureness and lucidity of a madman'. The result is an elegant and virtuosic masterpiece that seems tinged with nostalgia. The performers are three leading young soloists, all of whom are, or have been, BBC New Generation Artists.

Debussy: Sonata for violin and piano
Debussy: Sonata for cello and piano
Ravel: Piano Trio

Jennifer Pike (violin)
Nicolas Altstaedt (cello)
Igor Levit (piano).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Sat 11 Aug 2012 14:00

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up