Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Strauss, Musgrave, Respighi

BBC Proms, 2012, Prom 31 Episode 2 of 2

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Continuing the focus on the UK's musical youth, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and their chief conductor Donald Runnicles are joined by the young players of the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland and former NYOS Leader Nicola Benedetti in a sparkling programme orchestral showpieces.

A celebration of Scottish musical talent, tonight's concert includes music by two of Scotland's finest composers, including the London premiere of James MacMillan's Fanfare Upon One Note and the world premiere of Thea Musgrave's Loch Ness: a Postcard from Scotland. Alongside these works, the two groups join forces in music of drama and romanticism, emblematic of Donald Runnicles' musical personality, in Wagner's Overture to Die Meistersinger, Strauss's Don Juan and Respighi's grandly colourful tone-poem, Pines of Rome. Nicola Benedetti joins them for Bruch's romantically lyrical Scottish Fantasy.

R. Strauss: Don Juan
Thea Musgrave: Loch Ness - a Postcard from Scotland (BBC commission; world premiere)
Respighi: Pines of Rome

Nicola Benedetti (violin)
National Youth Orchestra of Scotland
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Donald Runnicles

This Prom will be repeated on Thursday 16th August at 2pm.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 5 Aug 2012 20:45

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up