iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for MacMillan, Wagner, Bruch

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

More episodes

MacMillan, Wagner, Bruch

BBC Proms, 2012 Season, Prom 31 Episode 1 of 2

2 hours, 45 minutes
First broadcast:
Sunday 05 August 2012

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Continuing the focus on the UK's musical youth, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and their chief conductor Donald Runnicles are joined by the young players of the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland and former NYOS Leader Nicola Benedetti in a sparkling programme orchestral showpieces.

A celebration of Scottish musical talent, tonight's concert includes music by two of Scotland's finest composers, including the London premiere of James MacMillan's Fanfare Upon One Note and the world premiere of Thea Musgrave's Loch Ness: a Postcard from Scotland. Alongside these works, the two groups join forces in music of drama and romanticism, emblematic of Donald Runnicles' musical personality, in Wagner's Overture to Die Meistersinger, Strauss's Don Juan and Respighi's grandly colourful tone-poem, Pines of Rome. Nicola Benedetti joins them for Bruch's romantically lyrical Scottish Fantasy.

James MacMillan: Fanfare Upon One Note (London premiere)
Wagner: The Mastersingers of Nuremberg - Overture
Bruch: Scottish Fantasy

Nicola Benedetti (violin)
National Youth Orchestra of Scotland
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Donald Runnicles

This Prom will be repeated on Thursday 16th August at 2pm.



    Everything you need to explore the music in this Prom, including related broadcasts and clips.

    Explore this Prom.


Listen and Watch

Listen and Watch

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss