iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Histoires naturelles [Tales from Nature] (1906) by Maurice Ravel
Image for Wigmore Hall: Pavel Haas Quartet

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Wigmore Hall: Pavel Haas Quartet

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 09 July 2012

Live from Wigmore Hall in London, the Pavel Haas Quartet perform two highly personal and autobiographical works by Czech composers: Janacek's Second Quartet (Intimate Letters) reflects on his passionate but one-sided relationship with a younger woman; and Smetana's First Quartet (From My Life) details the emotional trauma of encroaching deafness. Presented by Fiona Talkington.

Janacek: String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters"
Smetana: String Quartet No. 1 in E minor "From My Life"

Pavel Haas Quartet.

Music Played

2 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Wigmore Hall: Pavel Haas Quartet

    • Image for Leos Janacek

      Leos Janacek Quartet no. 2 (Intimate letters) for strings

      Performer: Pavel Haas Quartet

    • Image for Bedrich Smetana

      Bedrich Smetana Quartet no. 1 in E minor (From my life) for strings

      Performer: Pavel Haas Quartet


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss