iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Philharmonia Orchestra - Phibbs, Mahler

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia Orchestra - Phibbs, Mahler

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 28 June 2012

Live from the Royal Festival Hall at London's Southbank Centre

Presented by Martin Handley

Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in Mahler's transcendental Symphony No.2 - the Resurrection. In the composer's own words, "The first movement depicts the titanic struggles of a mighty being still caught in the toils of this world; grappling with life and with the fate to which he must succumb - his death". In tonight's performance English soprano Kate Royal and Finnish mezzo Monica Groop take part in the epic finale of which Mahler wrote "The increasing tension, working up to the final climax, is so tremendous that I don't know myself, now that it is over, how I ever came to write it"

The first half of the concert features the London premiere of Rivers to the Sea by young English composer Joseph Phibbs.

Phibbs: Rivers To The Sea (London Première)

8.15: Interval

Mahler: Symphony No. 2, Resurrection

Philharmonia Orchestra
Kate Royal (soprano)
Monica Groop (mezzo-soprano)
Philharmonia Chorus
Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor).

Music Played

6 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Philharmonia

    • Image for Joseph PHIBBS

      Joseph PHIBBS Rivers to the Sea for orchestra

      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

  • Music Interval

  • Image for Joseph PHIBBS

    Joseph PHIBBS 'The Canticle of the Rose' from The Canticle of the Rose for soprano and string quartet

    Performer: Helen Jane HOWELLS - Soprano Performer: Navarra String Quartet

  • Image for Antoine Brumel

    Antoine Brumel Sequentia 'Dies irae, dies illa' (extract)

    Conductor: Paul van NEVEL Performer: Huelgas Ensemble

    Sony, SK46348

  • Image for Eugène Ysaÿe

    Eugène Ysaÿe 'Obsession (Poco vivo)' from Sonata no. 2 in A minor Op.27`2 (Obsession) for violin solo

    Performer: Maxim VENGEROV - Violin

    EMI CLASSICS, 7243 5573-842 4

  • Philharmonia

    • Image for Gustav Mahler

      Gustav Mahler Symphony no. 2 in C minor (Resurrection) for soprano, alto, chorus and orchestra

      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Kate ROYAL - Soprano Performer: Monica GROOP - Mezzo-soprano Performer: Philharmonia Chorus Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss