Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Martha Argerich - Schumann, Mozart, Brahms

Live from the RSI Auditorium, Lugano, Switzerland

Presented by Ian Skelly

Legendary pianist Martha Argerich and friends perform at her Argerich's own festival in Lugano, Switzerland. Including chamber works by Schumann, Mozart and Brahms.

Every year for the last 11 years, Martha Argerich gathers together a group of friends, young and old, to perform chamber music in the city on the banks of Lake Lugano. She is joined in this concert by two cellists, four pianists and two violinists who perform a series of chamber music works. This year the thread connecting many of the works in the festival is compositions that are based on re-workings of other composer's themes and tonight's concert begins with one such work: Moscheles Homage to Handel. But it's the other pieces which are really the meat of this concert, Schumann's Pieces in the Popular Style, Mozart's Sonata for two pianos and Brahms' 1st Violin Sonata.

Moscheles: Hommage à Händel op. 92
Daniel Rivera, piano
Elio Coria, piano

Schumann: Fünf Stücke im Volkston op. 102
Gautier Capuçon, cello
Martha Argerich, piano

Moszkowski Suite op. 71
Dora Schwarzberg, violin
Lucia Hall, violin
Elena Lisitsian, piano

8.15pm Interval

Mozart: Sonata for Two Pianos in D major K 381
Maria João Pires, piano
Martha Argerich, piano

Brahms Sonata no. 1 in E min. op. 38
Mischa Maisky, cello
Lily Maisky, piano

Following the live concert the Britten Sinfonia perform chamber works including Cheryl Frances-Hoad's Memoria, broadcast as part of 'Encore' - a collaboration between the Royal Philharmonic Society and BBC Radio 3 designed to give repeat performances and broadcasts of works by living British composers which otherwise might be lost from view.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 25 Jun 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.