Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Presented by Penny Gore.
Stuart Flinders presents a live concert given by the BBC Philharmonic at their MediaCity base in Salford. They're joined by their conductor laureate Gianandrea Noseda, who brings a decidedly Italian feel to the programme with the overture to Verdi's Luisa Miller and Casella's Italia. In between, violinist James Ehnes takes to the stage to perform Prokofiev's Violin Concerto no. 1 - written in 1917, the most productive year of the composer's life.

Verdi: Overture to Luisa Miller
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto no. 1 in D major, Op. 19
Casella: Italia, Op.11
James Ehnes (violin),
BBC Philharmonic,
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)..

Brahms: Tragic Overture
BBC Philharmonic,.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 27 Jun 2012 14:00