Playing: The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex – Suite by Erich Wolfgang Korngold
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Daniel Muller-Schott, Robert Kulek

Chamber Music in the Ulster Hall 2/4
In the second concert in this series featuring international soloists, Daniel Muller Schott and Robert Kulek perform a recital of 19th-century sonatas for cello and piano by Brahms and Franck. Brahms' Sonata in E minor Op. 38 is an homage to J.S. Bach - the themes fom the first movement and the fugal theme of the finale are based on music from Bach's Art of Fugue. Franck's Sonata in A major is titled for violin (or viola or cello or flute) and piano. The sonata was composed during the last decade of Franck's life and was a the composer's wedding gift to the Belgian violinist, Eugene Ysaye, in 1886

Daniel Muller-Schott (cello)
Robert Kulek (piano)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Cello Sonata in E minor, Op. 38
César Franck (1822 - 1890) Sonata in A major.

58 minutes

Last on

Wed 13 Jun 2012 13:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss