On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Lieder ohne Worte - book 4 (Op.53), no.1; Andante con moto in A flat major by Felix Mendelssohn
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 3

John Shea presents a performance of Haydn's Missa Cellensis - with a starry line up of soloists, Vienna's leading chamber choir and the period instruments of Concentus Musicus, Vienna, all conducted by Nikolaus Harnoncourt, one of the most inspiring and provocative musicians of our age. The mass was written for the Esterhazy family in 1766 and is notable for its astonishing vigour.

Haydn Mass No. 8 in C Hob. XXII/5 ('Missa Cellensis')
Bernarda Bobro (soprano)
Elisabeth von Magnus (mezzo-soprano)
Daniel Johannsen (tenor)
Florian Boesch (bass)
Arnold Schoenberg Chorus,
Concentus Musicus Wien,
Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 6 Jun 2012 14:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss