iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: "Harmonious Blacksmith" - Aria with Variations (HWV.430) by George Frideric Handel
Image for Philharmonia - Janacek, Dvorak, Mozart

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia - Janacek, Dvorak, Mozart

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 31 May 2012

Live from The Royal Festival Hall.

Presented by Martin Handley

The Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by Edward Gardner, perfrom Dvorák's Symphony No 7, Janácek's Sinfonietta, and are joined by pianist David Fray in Mozart's Piano Concerto No.22 in E flat, K.482.

Janácek's Sinfonietta and Dvorák's Symphony No.7 are both pieces suffused with musical references to the Czech nation. Janácek was inspired to write his Sinfonietta, scored for 14 trumpets, after listening to brass bands performing in his native Czechoslovakia. Dvorák explained his motivation for writing his seventh symphony in equally patriotic terms: 'What is in my mind is Love, God, and my Fatherland'.

Janácek: Sinfonietta

Mozart: Piano Concerto No.22 in E flat, K.482

8.30 pm - Music Interval

Dvorák: Symphony No.7

David Fray (piano)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor).

Music Played

5 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Philharmonia

    • Image for Leos Janacek

      Leos Janacek Sinfonietta

      Conductor: Edward GARDNER Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Image for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

      Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Concerto no. 22 in E flat major K.482 for piano and orchestra

      Conductor: Edward GARDNER Performer: David FRAY - Piano Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

  • Music Interval

  • Image for Antonin Dvorak

    Antonin Dvorak Bagatelles Op.47 for 2 violins, cello and harmonium

    Performer: Jaroslav TUMA - Harmonium Performer: Panocha String Quartet

    Supraphon, SU3391-2131, 1-7

  • Philharmonia

    • Image for Antonin Dvorak

      Antonin Dvorak Symphony no. 7 in D minor Op.70

      Conductor: Edward GARDNER Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss