Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Shostakovich, Aho, Sibelius

From The Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The BBC Symphony Orchestra's Sibelius season comes to an end with the First Symphony, where you'll hear echoes of Tchaikovsky next to thrilling signs of the 'real' Sibelius. Alongside it is the latest concerto from Sibelius's compatriot Kalevi Aho, performed by star young trombonist Jorgen van Rijen, and Shostakovich's brilliant and witty ballet suite The Bolt, which mingles parodies of 1920s popular music with evocations of the Machine Age.

Shostakovich: The Bolt - Suite
Kalevi Aho: Trombone Concerto (UK Premiere)
Sibelius: Symphony No 1.

Jorgen van Rijen (trombone)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Vedernikov (conductor)

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Sun 20 May 2012 14:00