iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : BBC Proms
2014 Season - Prom 10 (part 2): Elgar, Walton, Moeran, David Horne
Image for Archive Recordings

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Archive Recordings

1 hour, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 16 April 2012

Jez Nelson presents a selection of recently recorded, previously unbroadcast music from the Jazz on 3 vaults. Included in the programme is a performance by vibraphonist Corey Mwamba and pianist Robert Mitchell; music from Brazilian multi-instrumentalist Hermeto Pascoal; and a specially recorded solo performance by tuba player Oren Marshall. Also on the programme, Jez and guest critic John Fordham cast an ear over recent album releases.

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Studio Guest: John Fordham
Producer: Peggy Sutton.

Music Played

19 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Roundup of New Releases

  • Hermeto Pascoal Septet and Big Band, recorded at the Barbican as part of the London Jazz Festival on 20 November 2011

    • Line-up (septet): Hermeto Pascoal (keyboards & accordion), Aline Morena (voice & 10-string guitar), Itiberê Zwarg (bass & percussion), Andre Marques (piano, flute & percussion),

    • Vinicius Dorin (saxes, flutes, percussion), Fabio Pascoal (percussion, stage direction), Marcio Bahia (drums, percussion)

    • Line-up (big band): Jovino Santos Neto (conductor), Phil Todd and Sammy Mayne (alto saxes), Julian Siegel and Tom Richards (tenor saxes), Chris Biscoe (baritone sax),

    • Tom Rees-Roberts, Noel Langley, Henry Lowther, Chris Batchelor and Kevin Robinson (trumpets), Pete Beachill, Richard Henry, Richard Wigley, Sarah Williams and Fayyaz Virji (trombones),

    • Mike Mondesir (bass), Mark Mondesir (drums) Stuart Hall (guitar & violin), Ivo Neame (piano)

    • Image for Hermeto Pascoal Septet

      Hermeto Pascoal Septet Garrote

      Composer: Hermeto Pascoal

    • Image for Hermeto Pascoal Big Band

      Hermeto Pascoal Big Band Piramide

      Composer: Hermeto Pascoal

  • Roundup of New Releases

    • Image for Billy Hart

      Billy Hart Ohnedaruth

      All Our Reasons, ECM

  • Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell, recorded at the Front Room as part of the London Jazz Festival on 19 November 2011

    • Lineup: Corey Mwamba (vibes), Robert Mitchell (piano)

    • Image for Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell

      Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell Traumerei

      Composer: Schumann

    • Image for Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell

      Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell Bereft

      Composer: Corey Mwamba

    • Image for Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell

      Corey Mwamba & Robert Mitchell Cumulus

      Composer: Robert Mitchell

  • Roundup of New Releases

    • Image for Brad Mehldau Trio

      Brad Mehldau Trio Aquaman

      Ode, Nonesuch

    • Image for Alexander Hawkins Ensemble

      Alexander Hawkins Ensemble Tatum Totem III

      All There, Ever Out, Babel Label

  • Oren Marshall, recorded at Ronnie Scott’s as part of the London Jazz Festival on 11 November 2011

    • Lineup: Oren Marshall (tuba)

    • Image for Oren Marshall

      Oren Marshall Why Me?

      Composer: Oren Marshall

    • Image for Oren Marshall

      Oren Marshall The Story of Speedy Sponda Part 2

      Composer: Oren Marshall

  • Hermeto Pascoal

    Hermeto Pascoal

    (c) Tim Dickeson

  • Robert Mitchell & Corey Mwamba

    Robert Mitchell & Corey Mwamba


Read the Jazz on 3 Blog

a typewriter

Discover more about the musicians and performances included in each episode of Jazz on 3.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss