Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

This week Louise Fryer presents recent concerts by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, with a special focus on cello concertos and some of Shostakovich's best known works.

Today Donald Runnicles conducts the BBC SSO at the City Halls in Glasgow in a romantic programme - from the heroic overture Don Juan to the life-affirming warmth of Brahms towering first symphony, via Haydn's tuneful Cello Concerto. The orchestra also explores music written closer to home by the heroically named William Wallace and Shostakovich's 1st symphony with Swiss maestro Stefan Blunier.

Richard Strauss: Don Juan
Haydn: Cello Concerto in C major
Martin Storey (cello)

Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Donald Runnicles (conductor).

William Wallace: The Passing of Beatrice
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Stefan Blunier (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 9 Apr 2012 14:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss