Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Life Stories Episode 1 of 2

Four poignant dramas exploring emotional issues which children can relate to, learn from and enjoy. We delve into stories of bravery, confidence, friendship and sibling rivalry. Each film offers a thought-provoking scenario.

Aimed at seven- to ten-year-olds, the universal themes are dramatised through the eyes of an individual character as we follow them through their journey.

In the first film, Toby has a huge decision to make. Put under pressure by his alcoholic dad, is he brave enough to make the right choice? In the second film, Mel and her nan's relationship blossoms over their shared passion of dance, which not only encourages Mel's confidence but gives nan a new lease of life. The third film explores the theme of friendship. When Jess beats Megan on sports day, has she won the race but lost a friend? And in the fourth film we meet Akash and Arjun, brothers who learn that sacrifice can lead to them being friends rather than rivals.

With some of Britain's leading writers involved, such as Bill Gallagher, Debbie Horsfield, Sanjeev Kohli and Lena Rae, the viewer is immersed into the world of our characters, promoting and encouraging children to respond to the films in order to gain a better understanding of themselves.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Tue 18 Nov 2014 05:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Life Stories

Featured in...