Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Champs Hill: Michael Collins and Friends

Radio 3's celebration of The Spirit of Schubert continues live from Champs Hill in Sussex. Sean Rafferty introduces a performance of one of Schubert's best loved masterpieces, the Octet in F, D803.

In 1824 Count Ferdinand Troyer, a talented amateur clarinettist proposed to Schubert that he write a follow-up to Beethoven's immensely successful Septet. Schubert duly obliged, adding a second violin to the line-up and creating a work that was quintessentially his own.

Acclaimed Clarinettist Michael Collins is joined by the young Doric Quartet, as well as horn player Richard Watkins, bassoonist Robin O'Neill and Double Bassist Lynda Houghton to play this enduringly popular work.

Schubert: Octet in F, D803

Michael Collins (clarinet)
Doric Quartet
Richard Watkins (horn)
Robin O'Neill (bassoon)
Lynda Houghton (double bass).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Thu 29 Mar 2012 13:00