Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from the Bath Assembly Rooms

Presented by Sean Rafferty

As part of The Spirit of Schubert, Elisabeth Leonskaja plays Schubert's last two Piano Sonatas, composed during the final year of his life. Neglected during the 19th Century it was only around the centennial of Schubert's death that these works begin to receive serious attention and critical acclaim. They have now come to be regarded as one of the highest points in the classical piano repertoire.

Schubert: Sonata in A, D959
Schubert: Sonata in B flat, D960

Elisabeth Leonskaja (piano).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 27 Mar 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.