Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Continuing BBC Radio 3's celebration of The Spirit of Schubert, Louise Fryer presents this special live Lunchtime Concert from the beautiful surroundings of Holkham Hall in Norfolk. The German-based Signum Quartet - one of BBC Radio 3's current batch of New Generation Artists - performs two of Schubert's best known works for string quartet: the short movement known as his Quartettsatz and his last contribution to the genre - the "Death and the Maiden" Quartet, written in 1824.

SCHUBERT - Quartettsatz in C minor, D.703
SCHUBERT - String Quartet No.14 in D minor "Death and the Maiden", D.810.

Producer Les Pratt.

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Sat 24 Mar 2012 13:00